Nowadays children spend more time playing computer games than doing sports. Why is it happening? Does it have a positive or negative effect on their development?

It is commonly seen that children love to spend their leisure time playing games on a computer instead of physical games. This essay will suggest that the addictiveness of computer games encourages children to play more video games and I believe that this is a negative development due to the health concerns associated with spending too much time on electronic games. The main reason why children play digital games is that these games are built in such a way so that youngsters become addicted to playing them. Due to this, they spend enormous time in front of the screen. Moreover, playing these games does not require any sort of physical effort. Therefore, children spend more time playing electronic games. To illustrate, during the official launch of the Red Dead Redemption Game, the managing director of the company admitted that games are built to indulge young ones so that they spend more time playing their company’s games. I believe that playing electronic games extensively is a negative development because there are numerous health concerns associated with playing computer games. Young people stare at screens for hours while they are playing games which weakens their eyesight and it also results in obesity-related diseases such as bad cholesterol. These diseases are difficult to cure when they become an adult. For example, a recent study by Cambridge University found that young ones who played computer games were more likely to have health issues in their life as compared to who did not. In conclusion, electronic games are addictive and therefore, children spend more time to playing them. I think playing computer games do not have any positive impact because of health issues.