Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth rather than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people.

Yes, I too believe that famous people are being celebrated for their lavish lifestyle and glamorous looks rather than their talent, which is making youngsters believe in show off. My stand is explained further with reasons and examples in upcoming paragraphs. The mainstream media often writes cover stories on the high end fashion and expensive lifestyle of the famous personalities. These people didn’t get fame overnight. There is a lot of hard work and struggle behind the success. But in the shine of their lavish lifestyle and glamour all this hard work gets ignored and people only notice their way of life, especially the youth. For instance, we all saw the recent cover article in Forbes magazine on “Tom cruise”. The entire article was revolving around real estate, cars, the private jet and social life of Tom cruise. But the success story of Tom Cruise is filled with his struggle. Today’s youth believes in show off as the social media has limited the vision of the youth only to the likes and comments they get on their social media posts or the count of the followers they have on social networking sites. There is the “social pressure” on the youth to maintain that lifestyle to look more like a celebrity which leads them to adopt a fake lifestyle and buy the unnecessary expensive things, if failed to do so some youngsters become suicidal or end up as a criminal. In conclusion, the measurement of success on the basis of glamour and wealth is pressurizing the youth to fake their success by maintaining the fake lifestyle which results in some youth taking the crime path or even worse, the life ending decisions.