It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, having a holiday or taking a break right after schooling has become increasingly popular. For many people, it acts as a stress buster and it helps them to plan their career. However, there are both pros and cons of doing this. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons why having a break after school is important and some of the challenges to be overcome. Firstly, Let's begin with the advantages of having year off, after secondary education it helps people to understand the outside world. What I meant by this is that it helps in building their career. For instance, Not all people prefer to study further in a university right after school. It is because they have their own dreams. This can make them understand whichever path they are willing to decide. Secondly, It acts as a refresher for some people. For example, Some students are stressed by having a long secondary education and they always wanted to have a break in order to refresh themselves. In addition, it helps majority of people to focus more on their professional development. Turning to the other side of the argument there are few disadvantages of having year off. To be more precise it also affects the person's professional growth. Let's use organization as an example. Most of the firms don't prefer a candidate who had break in their education. This often leads to rejection of a particular candidate. Another issue is that it can affect the individual if they fail to plan it appropriately and this often leads to wastage of time. In conclusion, Although there are convincing arguments on both sides of the debate. Personally, I believe the benefits in terms of having time off eventually outweigh any negatives.