Nowadays an ordinary people can get popular through the Internet and media. Is it a positive or a negative development?

Advanced communication tools such as the Internet and media allow quick information flow. Many people seize the opportunity and become famous via social platforms. Since younesters may perceive altered values and affect our society, I believe this trend can pose negative effects. People see the Internet and media as a golden chance to trigger changes in their lives. For many of those who do not come from a wealthy family, getting a stable job to support their living is the major concern of them. By showing themselves on the Internet, they build a stage for them to shine at a low cost. Emi Wong, one of the popular Youtubers who earn a million dollars a year, was an office administrator before her videos gone viral. She becomes the most popular Youtube user and gains profits from views and sponsorship. It is not a single case that ordinary people turn themselves into key opinion leaders. It allows them to change their boring life or to gain unexpected life experience. However, quick information flow can cause various harmful effects on the public, especially teenagers. People have unrealistic expectation about using social media to get themselves famous. Making videos that outstand among all require time and effort. For example, users need to show special skills or create new ideas to keep their viewers watching their channels. Teenagers are susceptible to lure and believe that getting popular can bring them sense of achievement and identity. They may sacrifice their time and money in order to get more views of their video. In long run, this unhealthy trend can lead to less workforce in our society as people would rather earn their living in the virtual world. Since this trend pose adverse effects to both individuals and our society, I believe that it is a negative development. The government should step in to monitor healthy internet use and educate the public to use the Internet wisely.