Nowadays, a lot of people are able to do their worko their work from home. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this development.

Telecommunication has become very popular jobs related to the IT sector. Many companies provide their employees with computers and a good internet connection to work from home. This is a largely advantageous to both employees and employers but has a few disadvantages as well. On the positive side it saves time and money of employees as they do not waste time commuting to and form office and also do not need to spend on public or private transport. The time they save can be given to personal or family needs. For instance, they can look after minor family commitments such as dropping their child to school. Finally, they can work for anyone in any corner of the world sitting in their homes. Similarly, telecommunication helps the employer also because they do not need to build and maintain big offices. Moreover, it has been seen that telecommuters do not take much sick leave or other leave, which in turn benefits the employers. In addition, there are more advantages to the environment. Less people going and coming from offices and means less congestion on the road and also less pollution. On the other hand, the disadvantages of telecommuting to the employees are that they have to reserve a corner in their home for office, as they have to sit there undisturbed during office hours. Secondly they do not get the office atmosphere to work, and so it can get very boring at times. They can also be disturbed by the family, who fails to realise that the person sitting at home is not free. The employers also find it very difficult to supervise tele-commuters. In conculsion, after contemplating above mention information it is clear that telecommuting has pros as well as cons but definitely the advantages have an edge over the disadvantages.