In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this case? What can be done about this problem?

In our today's world, agriculture plays an integral role in many countries' economy. Despite the emergence of new modernized farming industry methods, famine is still a cause for concern, even in developed countries. The origins of this issue seem to stem from several factors, while a number of remedies are also available, which will be discussed in this essay. There exist several reasons linked to the shortage of food these days throughout the world. In the first place, it seems that many impoverished countries cannot bear the financial burden of cutting-edge techniques and thus use previous outdated methods. This, in turn, would not support the market demand, resulting in increasing the percentage of famine. Moreover, it is a well-established fact that the minority of youngsters reluctant to choose farming as their career on the grounds of low salaries and low-level social status; therefore, decreasing the number of farmers may worsen the situation. In addition, water scarcity and natural disasters like floods or storms may ruin the farmers' harvest, leading to adverse effects on food supply. Regarding the alternatives in addressing the given problem, first and foremost, governments should invest more money in GM foods infrastructures. This, in turn, not only can reduce malnourishment and shortage of food, but it also helps to access all types of fruits and vegetables throughout a year. Furthermore, affluent nations can aid underprivileged countries with low-interest loans to improve agricultural methods. In doing so, campaigns or informative leaflets can educate farmers about these new technological methods' benefits. It goes without saying that some financial incentives such as tax discounts or even providing more facilities in countrysides would motivate the youth to enter in this sector more than before. In conclusion, it seems that demotivation in farming, using outdated methods, and high-cost infrastructures are the reasons for the lack of food. Addressing the famine crisis would need international joint efforts, and adopting the above-mentioned measurements can alleviate it.