Nostalgia promotes help seeking by fostering social connectedness

The authors begin presenting the situation that people are often reluctant to seek help, something that causes a variety of real-life problems. After an introduction, the authors define nostalgia, a bittersweet (though generally positive-valenced), approach-oriented, and low-arousal emotion that we are all familiar with. They then present the research that supports that nostalgia is highly social, from three main literature trends: From the analysis of the content of nostalgic narratives, from its correlation with the need for social connectedness (this is, that nostalgia measures higher when the need for social connectedness is higher), and as a cause of social connectedness. Finally, they add the empirical fact that nostalgia promotes approach-oriented interpersonal behaviors, including helping behavior and being more comfortable in social situations. The authors explained the influence of nostalgia on these approach-oriented behaviors as a manifestation of the emotion’s social character. Having these bases on mind, the authors hypothesized that nostalgia might promote help-seeking behaviors (that are also approach-oriented interpersonal behaviors); and that this might be mediated by social connectedness. The researchers conducted a series of experiments to test the hypotheses. They began with a preliminary study, that tested that nostalgia (independent of other emotions) correlated with help-seeking behavior. Their first experiment tested nostalgia as a cause of help-seeking behavior (or at least, the self-reported prediction of help-seeking behavior). The second experiment showed that social connectedness mediated the (reported prediction of) help-seeking behavior. The next experiment tested, with a behavioral measurement instead of a self-report, that nostalgia facilitated help-seeking behavior. The fourth experiment provided evidence that (measured) social connectedness mediated the effect of nostalgia on seeking behavior. Finally, the last experiment manipulated the social character of nostalgia, instead of measuring it, to conclude that nostalgia promotes help-seeking behavior due to its social character. It was also found in this last experiment that “nonsocial nostalgia” didn’t increase help seeking significantly when compared to the control group. In the discussion, the authors commented on the possible utility of nostalgia, that practically always contains a social component. Besides of past proposed applications of nostalgia (e. g. , promoting help-giving behavior), they found evidence that it could be used to promote another approach-oriented interpersonal behavior: help-seeking. In addition, they suggested that nostalgia could be used not only to meet the needs of social connectedness (e. g. , to face loneliness), but also to garner the social connectedness that is valuable in order to have the psychological strength to seek help; especially on key moments when there is a lack of a person’s existent support network and help-seeking is most beneficial. The authors finished suggesting two main lines that future studies might follow. The first was to explore why social connectedness increases help-seeking behavior. They hypothesized that the increased sense of social connectedness can help overcoming barriers to help-seeking (e. g. , risk of rejection, impression management, failure of an opportunity to reciprocate). They also proposed that social connectedness could make us view others more positively, dependable and supportive; something that would make us be more likely to ask for help. The second suggested line of research was to test whether nostalgia (possibly through the mediation of social connectedness) helped breaking external barriers such as status difference, attractiveness, or ethnicity; that were shown to inhibit help-seeking behavior.