News media is important in our society. Why is it so important? Do you think its influence is generally positive or negative?

As we live in a democratic country, the media is considered as fourth pillar of the democracy. News media plays a vital role in our society. Because we have the easy access of news media we get aware with what are happening around the world. Moreover, some medias are being irresponsible and not showing the appropriate news. On the other side some medias are doing great job and always show their responsibility towards the nation. In my opinion news media has a positive impact. In the continuation of above paragraph, I would like to explain how news media influence is positive. Firstly, without media we would be totally cut off with the current scenario of the country and world too. For example, as we all have seen the complete lockdown during this pandemic and suppose if we did not have the access of media than how would we get aware with all the news and updates. Furthermore, news media also show the news and updates with proper detailing and analysis as well, and that really help us to know what exactly happened and why. Secondly, as i mentioned above that some media don't show the correct news and updates just because of the high TRP rating. I think now a days people are very smart and they are intellectual and they go by facts. Therefore if people would be little alert and conscious about the facts, media will always have positive influence. In conclusion, in this era we can not think life without media and it will have always positive impact to the society. At the same time people should not dance to the tone of media.