News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Its irrefutable that electronic and printing media are major sources to share knowledge and information to public. However, the news editor plays a significant role to take crucial decision about broadcasting the news. They sometimes distort the news by reason of gaining popularity and political pressure. Besides, people are used to negative news because of negativity bias. However, in my opinion media should give more importance in reporting positive news. To begin with, the reason which influence editor for decision is popularity. It’s very common that the editor and channel who report the news at first become more popular. The mainstream media are more aggressive and publish their cover stories in the headlines to increasing their followers and TRP rating. For example, the news related to celebrity personal life, relationship and political vendetta are demand among society. The political pressure is a second reason for circulation of false news where the editors are sometimes helpless. For an instance, there is no freedom of speech when media person want to perform a sting operation and publish news against politicians. As a result, the communication industry or publisher is under serious threat. Although it’s unethical, the people in power are more concern about their vote bank rather than public interest. There is no doubt that negative news spread faster than good news. To illustrate, rape, vandalism murder, accident and death related news are scoring more publicity than news concerning economic growth of the society. The main reason behind it that people are surprisingly more interested to read, watch and share negative news more frequently. For example, the news about the day light murder in Central London was highest read and shared among at least 2 million people. On a flip side, it would be better for the individual as well as news company to publish the more encouraging news, because it will improve the thinking of the individual and national development. To conclude, the impact of authorities, fame are the main factors which influence the editor for the time of broadcasting. But according to my view, it’s essential not to tamper the integrity of news because editors are equally responsible and committed to the society while they select the new stories.