News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

There is no doubt that media plays a crucial role in delivering news and entertainment to our life. While there are a large variety of information to be reported, the final decisions fall into the hands of News Editors. In this essay, we will explore how such choices are being made and I would argue that although many people have become used to bad news, more good news will benefit readers and audiences as a whole. To begin with, many newspapers and broadcasters consider profits as their ultimate goal which mostly produced by advertising. As a result, they will prefer stories with scandalous details and shocking photos which can create more revenues. Moreover, as this type of report requires less rigorous fact checkings and verifications, reporters would have extra time to find their next stories for future issues. Due to the overwhelming amount of bad news being introduced everyday, many people may have considerred horrorfic information as a “norm” of the society. For instance, while many have been exposed to information about hard drugs such as cocaine, drug abuse behaviours were commonly reported along with movie stars or music artits, which could influence their fans to consider drugs as “cool” to use. On the other hand, ballancing the information by allowing more goodnews can effectively alleviate the view of the readers. Interacting with good sources of information, especially those with higher standards, can enhance people’s decisions. In conclusion, while News Editor choose what new can be reported to their audiences, their focus on the bottomline could cloud their judgement which results in badnews gaining the majority of the media. I would argue that providing more good news and higher standard of sources can immensely benefit audiences.