My Motivation to Become a Doctor

According to my childhood experience when I went to the hospital, I was a patient at Siriraj Hospital and went to see a doctor three times a year because of my atrial septal defect (ASD). Even though I did not have any severe symptoms, or perhaps totally fine because it was a common ASD, my doctor and the other medical personnel were still attentive and took care of me carefully when they did the echocardiogram for me, which made me feel surprised. Although my ASD was closed on its own, I had coronary artery disease (CAD) instead. I still have to visit the hospital yearly for the diagnosis, including the echocardiogram and chest x-rays. However, my perspective towards this career slightly changed when I grew up; it changed from surprise to admirable. Because I saw many doctors in the hospital working hard to help their patients, and when their patients smiled because they got better, it was a heart-warming moment for me and I want to make others happy from they suffered. As someone who has suffered from an atrial septal defect and had coronary artery disease, I want to become a physician so that I can cure patients who and encourage them to have good physical and mental health.