Movies and books can reflect the ideas and the spirit of a particular period What have you learned about a place or its peo ple from watching films or reading books Use specific examples and details to support your response

Movies have been there for hundreds of years in many countires. North America is the pioneer in in the film industry which is followed by European countries. However, in today's world, movies are very common and almost every country have its own film productions in many different langugaes. I believe that we can learn about various places and its people simply by watching movies. I will elaborate more in the following passages. Firstly, we can learn a lot about the culture and the society by merely watching the characters that actors play in movies. We can notice the way actors communicate with their elderly and friends. For example, when I was in my sophomore year in college, korean movies were in trend, so, my frinds and I, would watch korean movies all day, thus we leanrned almost everything about their culture even though we have never been to Korea. We knew that they are highly respectable to their parents and elderly. Also, about their traditional dress and their weddings and rituals. Secondly, watching the movies allow us to notice the places and environments. Movies are shot at different locations, and simply watching movies, we get to know about the various places. For instance, I live in nothern India, but I have never been to south India, thus I still know how the places are in south India because of watching many south indian movies. India, is a huge country therefore, many diversity of the country is quite popular thus, staying in Northern India is totally different feeling than living in Northern Inida, but just because of places, but laos due to difference in culture and looks of pople. Finally, we can learn about the food of different country without visiting the place. Noodles and Momo are quite famous chinese dishes however, such dishes are prevent everywhere thats is because of videos and the movies we watch. Likewise, Indian dishes are also very famous in other countries. Therefore, watching movies can also tells us about the dishes. I believe that movies are great way to reflect the essence of different places. We can learn about other countries's cultures and societies, and foods and also different places. AS a result, movies plays important role in our lives in tecahing us various countries.