Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people feel that religious festivals are becoming meaningless with most people only wanting to enjoy themselves. Whereas I agree that enjoyment seems to be the priority during festival times, I don’t think that people have forgotten their meaning. On the one hand, religious and traditional festivals have certainly become times for celebration. In Saudi Arabia, for example, people celebrate Eid Al feter in a grand manner by wearing new clothes, giving and receiving presents, watching firework displays and preparing traditional foods which give them more delight. On the other hand, the argument that people have forgotten the meaning of festivals is meaningless. In primary schools, children are learning the reasons for celebrating festivals such as Eid Al Fete and Eid El Adha'a in their text books. In addition, Families also play a role in passing knowledge of religious festivals’ deeper significance on to the next generation. In conclusion, even in this fast paced modern world, people are still celebrating their religious festivals with full of enthusiasm and joyfulness. Just because they are celebrating it does not mean that they have forgotten the values and messages of these festivals.