Most people believe that we only need academics to excel in our lives while others are of the opinion that it should be extracurricular activities that play a major role in overall excellence.

Education is the most powerful tool for the development of a nation. Certain individuals think that the knowledge from the curriculum is enough to succeed in life, whereas others believe that activities other than curriculum provides all the factors to achieve big in life. In the following paragraphs, we are going to see the merits and demerits of both sides. Firstly, academics provide the basic knowledge of all the domains, so that when children pass-out from schools, they will get an idea on which subject is their career option. This is a foundation and aspiration for the children to become professionals like, doctors, scientists, engineers, etc. , who lead any country in the direction of excellence. For Example, a study from Oxford University states that academics in 4th to 10th grade has inculcated the passion in science for 67% of the scientists in NASA. Secondly, in this fast-moving world, children who achieve well in academics are the ones getting all the opportunities such as, admission to higher studies, scholarships, job opportunities, etc. . So, there is nothing wrong in concentrating more on exams and curriculum to become the best which is needed for career growth. However, a nation needs the right mix of other professionals who have excelled in other areas as well, such as, singers, dancers, sportsmen, social workers, etc. . In addition, we should expose the children to a range of extracurricular activities to know their passion and decide their profession on what they really like. For instance, MahindraSingh Dhoni of Indian Cricket team has claimed that he got the interest in Cricket because his physical education teacher asked him to join the Cricket classes and after a few years, he realised that Cricket is his passion. Needless to say, activities apart from studies are equally important for a child to have better mental health and physical health. To recapitulate, on the one hand, academics lays a foundation for a child to compete in this world and also supports them to become the pioneer. On the other hand, the right proportion of extracurricular activities gives them some relaxation from the hectic schedule and monotony, which helps them to overcome any challenge with abundant mental and physical energy.