More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

With job markets becoming ever more competitive, young people entering tertiary education are looking to gain an advantage. For increasing numbers of these students, applying to universities in other countries has become an attractive option. This essay will discuss why, despite the potential problems, there is much to be gained from studying overseas. Certainly, moving to another country to pursue an education does come with great challenges. One of these is the financial strain many international students find themselves under. In Australia, for instance, the average undergraduate degree costs over $20, 000 per year and people on student visas are prohibited from working more than 20 hours per week, which inevitably leads to financial hardship. When the cost of living is also high, the pressure is even more extreme. There is also the social factor to consider. Indeed, many foreign students struggle to adapt and settle in to their new culture. While these problems are real, there are far more benefits that can come from studying abroad. First among these is the opportunity to broaden one's network. By moving away from the familiarity of home, these students instantly expand their horizons, not just personally, but professionally as well. When they enter the job market after graduation, these international contacts may be key to their success. Similarly, the experience itself of living and learning while immersed in an unfamiliar culture can bring great rewards. In fact, research has shown that people who spend a year abroad studying are much more likely to have higher levels of confidence, and tend to get promoted more quickly in their jobs. In conclusion, even though moving to another country may be a daunting challenge for some students, there are great benefits that can be gained. Of these, network expansion and self growth are two important ones.