More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There is an upward trend in the number of pupils choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. In this essay, I will examine both arguments and express my personal opinion. On the one hand, it is true that students will gain a lot of benefits from studying abroad. Firstly, in terms of education, educational institutions in developed countries offer better. It means that students can have access to higher level of teaching from highly-qualified teachers with the aid of useful learning materials. Therefore, it opens up the opportunity for students to get higher degree, which can help them to boost their job applications. Moreover, living overseas can broaden students’ horizons and enrich their knowledge. By studying abroad, students will experience a brand-new country with incredible outlooks, custom and activities. That leads to their better understanding and appreciation for people and history in their host countries. Last but not least, students can become more independent. Their independence gain from tackling challenges they meet such as solitary life, racism, differences in culture. Personal independence not only helps increase self-esteem but also reduces reliance on others. On the other hand, studying overseas also has several disadvantages that are worth mentioning. One of the biggest deterrents is the language barrier. Needless to say, it has become a hindrance for pupils to interact with native speakers. Such a major problem will make it hard for them to express their opinions effectively causing difficulties in communication and learning. Another key point is that students can also suffer from culture shock or other health issues as a result of living alone in an unfamiliar environment. Without being well-prepared with these troubles, students can undergo the feeling of anxiety, frustration and homesickness which have adverse impact on their health. Furthermore, studying abroad may lead to brain drain in certain cases. It is apparent that the more cultivated students studying overseas without coming back their home countries, the more lack of manpower who can contribute to countries’ development. In conclusion, there is much said in favor of studying abroad. The condition is, however, that students must be well-prepared with necessary knowledge and experience to overcome the challenges of living and studying in an unfamiliar environment.