More and more people are choosing to work from home via computer. Companies are increasingly allowing their employees to do so. What might be some causes of this development? What are the benefits of doing this?

The development of new technology significantly affects the work environment. Remote work has become more popular recently, employees are allowed to do their jobs from home thus they decide to do it. This essay will show possible reasons and merits of that trend. To begin with, the main cause of the rising number of people working remotely is a vast technology development. The improvement of online communication tools such as video calls and video conferentions lets people do their responsibilities not only from home but from anywhere in the planet. Moreover, the Internet connection is the crucial working tool nowadays. For instant, employees of big international companies do not have to be at the office to be a part of an important meeting, they just need the Internet access and they can have a video call from any place. Both firms and workers are beneficial for this development. First of all, companies who allow their employees working from home do not have to rent a huge office space to fit everyone. For instance, they can have small office only for the management and meetings so they save a lot of money annually. Moreover, a lot of companies decide to hire freelancers who are often digital nomads working from anywhere in the world. It is favourable for companies because they pay for a project not a full time worker, as well as employees due to the possibility of travelling and working at the same time. In conclusion, increasing number of people working from home is caused because of the modern technology and it is beneficial for employers and workers.