More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays many companies let their workers to operate remotely instead of working at office. In my opinion, the drawbacks of this trend are greater than the benefits. On the one hand, some organizations consider that permitting their staff to work from home will help to save more money. In other words, by reducing the numbers of workers inside the office, the company will be able to decrease some expenses such as electricity and water, daily consumable materials, and transportation. Therefore, it is profitable to the organization to follow that strategy. Another benefit to consider is that working remotely has a direct positive effect on the traffic. To illustrate the idea, removing a huge number of employees’ cars from the streets is helping to reduce the traffic congestion. For instance, research revealed that traffic jams had decreased by 50 % in the last year due to the new policy of companies. It merely shows how this trend helps to solve the traffic issues. On the other hand, many disadvantages related to this trend should be considered. Firstly, home based work is not applicable to all kind of jobs. In other words, it is essential for employees in some certain occupations to have regular field visits in addition to their office works. For instant, site engineers are requested to supervise and monitor the progress physically at site which cannot be done while sitting at home. Consequently, allowing those employees to work remotely will affect badly on the production and the progress improvement. Secondly, it was found that working at home is not allowing the workers to concentrate while doing their tasks. To illustrate the idea, at home there are many distractions which can affect on their productivity. For example, it is not practical to focus on work while TV is on or while children playing around. All of that might reflect negatively on the worker efficiency. To conclude, working at home as a part of companies recent policy has some benefits, but it cannot be compared with the major negatives of this trend and its serious consequences.