Modern technology has being used more and more in different aspects of our lives, such as education. Do the advantages of using technology as an educational tool outweigh its disadvantages?

The use of technology has been spiking up over the last decade all over the world. Technological influence can even be seen in the classroom. Although it possesses both pros and cons, I believe its benefits outweigh the drawbacks. I shall draw upon a few illustrations that reveal both the aspects of this phenomenon. Firstly, some rather obvious advantages of using technology as an educational instrument can be found. One of them is its ability to engage students with various interactive learning resources such as audiovisual representations, smartboards, etc. Additionally, its endless array of informational resources stand remarkable in the present educational system. Above all, today's online teaching with the advent of the internet has become popularly trending with the enormous benefits that it has brought in. For instance, Online learning has come to our rescue during the coronavirus pandemic situation. With this, students do not need to suffer from losing their academic years. Nevertheless, on the downside of the matter, some negative aspects should be pondered as well. To begin with, automation can be quite distracting. At a young age, it is highly possible to lose focus with the online adverts and windows pop-ups during studies. To illustrate, the recent New York educational research found that 70% of the teenagers are suffering withholding their attention spans for a minute on anything. This is the consequence of online learning. Furthermore, the rate of children suffering from optometric diseases has been increasing due to the over-exposure to the screen and thereby leads to sleeplessness, which is highly detrimental among children. All in all, it can be seen that the application of tools in schools can be beneficial for students. However, the merits of technological usage undoubtedly outweigh the demerits by wisely leveraging it.