Many wild animals are on the verge of extinction. What are some reasons for this? How can animals be protected?

It is ironic that even though majority of wild animals are way stronger than humans, they are facing a dark void of extinction. Despite the fact that wild animals play a significant role to preserve natural environment, human greed and interference has led to disappearance of many. I personally think it is cruel and inhumane and this ought to be phased out. However, in this essay I will discuss the probable causes and solutions for the same. Exotic animal trade is a primary reason for the reduction in numbers of many. Since, many wild animals are popular for their aesthetic and commercial value, like fur, teeth, bones and skin; they are either bartered or trafficked by desperate profit-driven individuals or hunters in order to make money. Elephants for instance, are not only illegally traded but also brutalized in the process of obtaining their tusks for Ivory, consequently leading to indiscriminate killing of many. Second reason is human intervention in previously unexploited areas, which means urban sprawl, industrialisation, farming and logging contribute to the destruction of habitat, making survival of certain species challenging. Penguins for instance, are in the endangered list, as global warming poses a threat for their survival. This is slowly leading to decimation of animals. Saving these endangered species is crucial for protecting the ecosystem. Firstly, individuals should not purchase any products made like tortoise shell, coral, ivory, which, are made from endangered species to stop wildlife trafficking from being a profitable enterprise. Despite the ban on Ivory, many people continue to trade them. Secondly, it is imperative for the governments to step forward and take stern actions against poaching of these animals. Bold decisions must be made by the government for a sustainable wildlife. To conclude, human activities such as mindless hunting, deforestation and wildlife trade are the primary reasons for extinction of these animals and can only be resolved with a joint effort of both government and individual awareness.