Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits.

As a sportslover, I look forward to sporting events. I take pride in mantaining my sporting events calendar. In the past few years, we have seen that such events have been marred by controversy. There were protests in Brazil before the 2014 Rio Olympics and protests in India before the 2012 CommonWealth Games. Should countries organise such spectacles? Organizing a sports event offers many advantages to the host country. It is a matter of pride to be able to organize such large scale events. These events also benefit sportpersons of the home country. They tend to perform better. They compete in familiar environments and are supported by thousands of fans. Not surprisingly, the Indian team won the 2011 Cricket World Cup that was held in India. Hosting a sports event also forces the host country to upgrade its infrastructure: aiports, roads, hotels and stadiums. However, there is another side to the story. Many people view the money spent on organizing these events as a waste of ressources. Instead, the ressources should be allocated to growing the economy and reducing unemployment. People in developing countries feel that the government should be spending money on generating jobs and reducing poverty instead of spending on building sports stadiums. Corruption is also a concern. Large infrastructure contracts are handed out in a shady manner. A huge scandal interrupted after the 2012 Commenwealth Games in India and the Head of the organizing committee had to tender his resignation. As a sportslover, I believe that sports must go on. Sports is about never say die spirit, it is about competing hard and yet following the rules. In a world where countries are embroiled in conflicts, sports events represent global solidarity. Atheletes from all over the world come together. So countries should continue organizing such spectacles. As with any grand endeavor, there will always be risks and rewards.