Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting event bring more problems than benefit.

Honestly, I don't see any significance of hosting an international event in any country. In my opinion, I think it's a complete waste of government fund that could be used elsewhere. Hosting such events requires a great deal of publicity and infrastructure and to achieve this, the host country has to allocate a tremendous amount of money to meet those demands. For instance, the Olympics is a prestigious event that a lot of people sought after, since this is the impression that we have in mind many participating countries invest in this events. However, this is only a short-term goal. sport events like these only paint a shallow image to the world but doesn't help the economy in the long-run. Furthermore, These events require a wide variety of amenities to better accommodate fans and athletes, ranging from hotels, food and airfares which cost billions of dollars. In conclusion, in hind-sight hosting international events brought a great honour to the the country where it was held but this is only temporary and doesn't address the more pressing issues in the society.