advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need

Wherever we go we constantly see different ads; in the form of banners, flyers, on the radio, and now even as we scroll through social media. There is simple no running away from it. Givin that fact, there is no surprise that many people find themselves buying a numbre of products they have no use of. Advertising is one of the first principles that are taught in any business school or markeing course. It is also believed to be the reason behind the sucess and failure of any product or sevice. An ad used to be about solving a common problem through the use of a product, or an announcement of a sale to attract more customers to a store. However, today an ad is designed to make you feel as if you are missing something and pushes you to take action, which is obviously buying the prodoct advertised. Mass marketing and advertising has made every peroson watching the ad part of an unintended target audience. For example, many people have no use for a professional high end camera, but Canon ads shows you that you can see life in a better quality and make memories unforgettable if you buy their new camera. Even though 80% of the targeted audience have no use for such a product, they would still go buy it because of how the advert made them feel while watching it. As a result, the victums of the ad end up wasting their money on a product, which they will only use for a couple of weeks before it ends us on a dusty shelve. Advertising should be better targeted and more specific. Especially with the new advancments in the feild of digital marketing, targeting specific audiences has never been easier. So in conclusion, businesses should learn to whom they need to offer their product or services before launching and advert, that way they can help people become more mindful while purchasing products.