Many people today find that the cost of attaining a University-level education is extremely high for the students and their families. What are the causes of this situation, and how can governments, Universities and the students themselves overcome the problem?

While many young people aspireto attending University, theexpenseinvolved can be prohibitivein some cases. The causes of this appear to befocussed on three areas, and a number of solutions also appear to be possible. Perhaps the major factor hereis thereduction in government subsidy for University courses. For instance, in the UK, such courses were virtually freeto thestudent until recently, but now cost around £30, 000 per year. This pattern appears to be global, with theresult that students and their families need to meet the costs directly. Another causeis theincreasing cost of living in many countries, meaning that the cost of day to day life(in addition to fees) can be almost overwhelming for students. A third factor is the difficulty in finding part-time work while a student is studying. Such work tends to be poorly paid, whiletaking up timethat students should usefor their studies. Turning to possiblesolutions, an obvious step would beto restoresomeelement of statefunding to courses. Although public budgets are under pressurethese days, if wetook this step it would greatly enhance access to courses for people on lower incomes. A second remedy might befor the Universities to offer shorter courses, or more courses with an element of professionally paid work experienceincluded. If such courses were more available, it would reducetheissue of living expenses to someextent. Finally, students themselves should perhaps be moreflexiblein their attitudeto education, and consider attending University at a later stage, or possibly only when they have accumulated sufficient funds to support themselves. In summary, thefactors of funding and cost of living appear to bethe main causes. A coordinated response by thestate, theinstitutions and theindividuals may well lessen theseverity of thesituation.