many people put their personal information online (address, telephone, numbers, so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

Owing to the advent of new means of communication over the recent years, people worldwide share their personal information on the internet even with those with whom they are not acquainted. Opinions widely vary as to whether this is a positive or negative practice. While the merits of this progress cannot be neglected, I believe the overall result of sharing all our private data is negative on the grounds of several reasons, which will be discussed in this essay. There exist several reasons to justify why putting personal information on the internet is beneficial. First and foremost, people can get to know each other's achievements or important events by sharing information online. This, in turn, help people to keep in contact with their friends or families regardless of their distances. For instance, online dating websites have enables thousands of people to find their soulmates just by these online data. Moreover, due to the fact that everybody, even criminals, should enter their basic information once they want to open, for example, bank accounts, they would be tracked by police if they committed a crime. This personal information, in fact, would be invaluable for many organizations like the FBI, especially in terms of cybercrime and reducing fraudulent activities. Hence, it would be seen as positive progress. Conversely, this development, similar to every other achievement, has disadvantages as well. In the first place, the information may get stolen by hackers, resulting in adverse consequences for individuals' lives. Money laundry or emptying people's bank accounts by hackers are good illustrations for this. Furthermore, the majority of people, especially children who are not internet literate, may be cyberbullied or abused by strangers. As a case in point, research has shown that most youngsters, especially those under the age of 18, have once experienced being bullied or blackmailed. In conclusion, although sharing information online would bring people close together, the demerits associated with this development, such as fraud and identity theft, would cause adverse effects for both individuals and societies. So from my point of view, it is negative progress.