Many people prefer to live in their own house, while others are prepared to live in rental properties.

Inflation is matter of concern for certain number of people because of low income levels which makes them mentally prepared to reside in rental properties whereas others, despite of high prices, chooses to stay in their own house as they consider it as an investment. In my opinion, preference of place is highly dependent on affordability and people are highly accustomed to act on basis of their social class and status. In comparison to middle class, rich people are leaned towards living in their own house because of steady income. Besides, not only they can build it with customized ideas they can also consider it as a major source of investment. Additionally, if house is bought on a loan, monthly EMI will be equivalent to the amount of monthly rent of the property, which makes them sensible enough to own a house rather than renting one. For instance, net worth of a business tycoon in India is worth millions half of which is derived from investment in properties. Whereas, economically backward people are prepared to stay in low rental properties. Usually, such class can hardly afford meal once a day which leaves them no choice but to accept the reality. Additionally, average earning people can hardly suffice throughout the month due to low earning capacity which delay their dream of having own house so rather than grieving about it they choose more practical approach of renting a place. In fact, inflation rate in countries like India is ~12% p. a. on an average which discourages people to afford their own house. In conclusion, people opine about their place of living depending on their income capability and lifestyle.