Many people now undertake extreme activities, from hang-gliding to mountain climbing. Why do people risk their lives in this way, and do you think this is a good trend? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Extreme outdoor activities like hang-gliding and mountain climibing are on the raise for past few years. Such activities are as exciting as risking the lives of those involved. Exploring the uncharted seas has always been the human tendancy. From George Washington discovering the America to Neil Armstrong landing on the moon, there are many landmark achievements written to the mankind's history. Although they were and will be the proudest moments, these were never risk free. Mountain climbing is one such activity to get those climber's names written in the history as the acheivers of such altitudes. The reasons for rise in such activities is many fold. Firstly, with the advancement of technology there is easy accessibility to reach such places in no time. This allows those enthusiasts to complete the task and return to their professional activities in less time. The pressure in persuance of success in many fields is eneormous these days and people tend to escape from it by involving in outdoor activitites. Also, the confidence that emergency help arrives at the earliest cannot be ignored. This is because of advancement in geological position tracking technologies and satellite communications. Lack of training to perform such activities, poor understanding of weather conditions and local geography may often lead such exploring enthusiasts to get lost in the 'nature's ambush'. One such incident had recently happened in the Gangotri valley of Garhwal Himalayan range. A small group of people were lost in the forest on their way back from the trek to Vasuki Tal. When local law-enforcement officials realised that they did not return even after 72 hours, drones had to be deployed at their rescue. This is certainly not a good trend to go on exploring the areas they know little about. This is as risky as exciting it seems. Governments should make relevant laws to allow only those who show a proof of qualification to perform such activities