Many people believe that the government should spend money on the care of the elderly. Others think that this money should be spent on the education of young people.

Social programs constitute a large part of the state budget. It is not agreed, however, whether this money should be spent mainly on supporting senior citizens, or whether it is better to invest it in the education of young people. I personally believe that both budget items are equally important for the development of society, and this essay will prove this point of view. On the one hand, spending money on the retired members of society might improve their welfare, thus allowing them to help their families in terms of childcare. This is essential for economy, as parents will be able to focus on work instead of spending extra time with the children. For example, it has been scientifically proven that modern cultures with a dedicated childcare from elder citizens show better development rate. Therefore, it might be unwise to cut funding on senior people, as they facilitate economy growth. On the other hand, investments in the education of the young are investments in the future of the entire nation. It is expected, therefore, that this money will gradually return into budget once students find a job. For instance, an average adult pays around 150, 000 rubles in taxes annually, and the more educated a person is, the more profit the budget gets. Thus, it is clear that spending money on the education of young students is also necessary for the economic development. In conclusion, both senior and young people require adequate financial support from the government, as it has a positive impact on the economy of the entire state. That is why I see no sense in cutting either of these budget lines. However, it should be noted that there are many other social programs that also require both funding and public attention.