Music has accompanied humans for centuries. Not only is it a powerful tool of expression, but also it can convey certain ideas and feelings that unite people. Despite the fact that nowadays traditional music is often underestimated, I am of the opinion that both, international and traditional music should be appreciated equally.

Music has accompanied humans for centuries. Not only is it a powerful tool of expression, but also it can convey certain ideas and feelings that unite people.  Despite the fact that nowadays traditional music is often underestimated,  I am of the opinion that both, international and traditional music should be appreciated equally. Undeniably,  music is not merely a combination of sounds and rhythms that entertain.  Like any other form of art,  it conveys meaning, inspires, evokes emotions and tells stories. Some songs may have revolutionary,   society-shaping effect.  Indeed,  the transformative power of music has long been recognised and widely used by such musicians as Oliver Mtukudzi, whose songs help raise awareness about HIV in his home country Zimbabwe, or Miriam Makeba who uses her words and music to expose the ills of the society and to initiate change in Africa.  Therefore, the function of music can be concluded to evoke emotions, to bring people together and to pass a powerful message. Current generation has a wealth of musical options to explore,  yet it is international music that dominates the world and is frequently favoured over traditional one.  However,  I am inclined to believe that both types of music are equally valuable as they serve different purposes.  International music sets common trends and eliminates boundaries between countries building one global society with shared interests and views.  At the same time,  traditional music preserves cultural identity and heritage of a nation, helping to forge a link with previous generations.  That is why it is crucial to fully appreciate both types of music and give them an equal recognition they deserve. In conclusion,  music is an essential part of human existence as it conveys certain feelings and arouses particular emotions about the past.  Doubtless, both traditional and international music ought to be valued equally as they enrich people’s lives from different sides.