Many people believe that the age of shopping malls is coming to an end, soon online shopping will completely replace retail stores. Explain the reasons for this and give your own opinion.

With the advent of the Internet, people gained the opportunity to purchase their products and services via the computer. On-the-web commerce is now a highly lucrative business and is valued in the billions of dollars annually. This phenomenon is having a major impact on the traditional way of making purchases, which is, in my opinion an advantageous tendency since online shopping is both time-saving and more convenient. Aside from finding cheap deals and avoiding the crowds, there is a plethora of reasons to do shopping online rather than on the high street. The amount of time and energy involved in purchasing products and services online is often significantly less than that which is needed to go to physical shops. In certain instances, it takes several days to find the right merchandise, but nowadays all you need is to have an access to online stores, like Amazon or EBay, search by name, click a product and make payment. Never before have goods been as instantly available as in internet-based shops, many of which provide overnight delivery and customer-friendly return policies. For example, for my mother’s last birthday, I bought a fancy dress online. I can say, using the Internet for this acquisition empowered me to relish my laid-back experience when any item I wish to buy is accessible with just a click or two. As a result, it would be no exaggeration to say that online shopping is also stress-free, which is essential for modern society. Yet another merit of buying online is that internet-based shopping is often significantly cost-efficient. Since online stores often sell products directly from the manufacturer, and they do not need to pay for a rent, and therefore, they can sell their products cheaper by as much as 50%. In addition, they also provide customers with discounts for next purchases and offer direct mail advertising with the information of new sales monthly. Moreover, online stores enable customers to review dozens of different goods and compare them before settling on the final purchase. This simply would have been near impossible in a brick and mortar shop. In conclusion, online shopping offers greater benefits to customers compared to in-store purchases. Due to these distinct advantages of virtual stores, I wholeheartedly believe that the age of retail stores is nearing its end.