Many people believe that spending a lot of money on weddings is fine, while others completely disagree.

It is quite normal all around the world for people to have extravagant wedding celebrations that cost vast sums of money. Some people think that this is a reasonable thing, while others think it is a total waste. This essay will look at both views and then decide that it is a waste of money. The chief reason why people are willing to spend so much money on a wedding is that it is a special event in a person’s life. Traditionally, a person’s wedding day was the most significant event and it needed to be celebrated fully. More than just for personal reasons, it also brought two families together and could even have been a political union, so it was of huge significance overall. As such, these events were lavish and no expense was spared. In the modern era, this idea has continued, despite the fact that people often get divorced and remarried, and weddings are now a more personal event than they used to be. The idea of spending vast sums of money on wedding is ridiculous. If a wedding is nowadays about celebrating a couple’s life together, it would be far better for the money to be spent on them. Rather than having an expensive wedding ceremony that lasts a few hours, they should spend the money on a house that they will live in for years, or put it towards securing their future together. The cost of a wedding is extraordinary nowadays, and that money could instead be used to make a couple’s life far happier and easier if it were invested into more realistic things. In conclusion, there are reasons why people want to have a big, expensive wedding, but it seems that the money would be better spent on the couple’s life to ensure a happy relationship.