Many people believe that social netwroking sites such as facebook, have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Since the beginiing of digital era, humans have deleterious effects of social media and they socialize less in public and more on the internet. In this essay, I will strongly agree with this statement. Firstly, I will discuss the privacy and time-wasting habits of people using social platforms and secondly, I will explore how a young child can get brainwashed using the digital arena of socialising. Although, a decade ago, letters and postcards were in huge demand for contacting a person. However, in this epoch, digitalization of processes has certainly helped in contacting any human from any part of the world. For this arrangement, many big corpoaration have setup their high-end technologies to store and use the types of data humans share and communicate about on their websites. Installing any digital application permission to manage calls, see the gallery and access to texts should be provided by the user and thereby using a particular user's data, companies pitch them a product which they would like to buy. This scheme is known as behaviourial marketing strategy and is used by major companies which have huge subscriber base and do not care about a person's privacy. Not only these applications are designed to make people's life more involved on the internet, these application do help students take time off from their responsibilties and get addicted to using digital platforms a lot more than playing or studying. Therefore, using these sites can cause priority-destabilisation. Similarly, more baised and negative news/false news could make a not so knowledgeable person believe things that are not true and therefore could lead to a negative impact. Also, people tend to read more from public pages on these platforms rather than a newspaper and absolutely disregard the genuine and trustworthy sources. A classic exmple of this is use of Facebook in campaigning and win of Donald Trump in 2016 USA elections. Although, the opposition in democratic party had all the positive aspect of winning but by spreading fake agenda digitally like, 'Build a wall on the border of Mexico' certainly biased the un-knowledgeable and young people of the USA. In conclusion, people should realize the importance of time they spend on such digital platforms as soicializing face-to-face does help a person better understand and represent their true side, while priorities of other work like jobs and studies should also not get affected.