Many people believe that reducing speed limits is the best option for road safety improvement. Do you think there are other measures that could be put in place? What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today's world is colossal surge in the number of such vehicle accidents as cars, trucks and buses, all over the world, be it in impoverished or developed nations. There is a wide range of factors that account for why this is happening. In my opinion, this situation could be remedied, provided some effective measures are taken. Measures to deal with this soaring concern are many; the most significant one are not remote or complicated but accessible and practicable. The primary one lies in the fact that government should take a firm stance and apply stringent rules and regulations to lower the speed limit. Secondly, using the electronic devices while driving should be forbidden by law. Finally, an awareness program could be initiated by individuals to educate the public about the catastrophic effects of unsafe roads and the projected enhancements for road safety. Only when convergent efforts from all sectors are ensures, can we expect to see considerable progress in tackling this problem. These is a deluge of merits for implementation of reduces speed limits. High sped us likely to impose life threatening danger on people crossing the roads, due to the perilous nature of this hazardous speed with danger being an integral part of it. Not only reducing the speed limits contribute to decreasing daily accidents, but it also raises the standard of driving. Needless to say, all these disadvantages have a far-reaching impact on pedestrian safety. There are, however, some pitfalls that can easily overpower the potential benefits of limiting speed. The primary one stems from the fact that slowing the speed could lead to augmenting the daily traffic hours. Besides, it could also delay delivering sick and severe patients to hospitals. Hence, it is apparent why some individuals are against changing the standardized level of speed. From what has been discussed, one can conclude that despite the drawbacks of reducing speed limit, the expected benefits of this measures are indeed far greater.