Many people are working longer hours. Why is this happening? What problems can this cause to people?

Recent statistics show that the average of daily working hours is increasing worldwide. This essay will reveal some of the causes behind this phenomenon and try to uncover its negative effects on workers. To commence, the main reason why people are working for longer hours refer to the fact that human demands are increasing drastically. In order to afford buying the newly developed devices, consumers should work for extra hours. To illustrate, buying the latest version of a mobile phone requires lots of money. As a result, increasing shift time is the only way to earn that amount of money. Moreover, the new mode of living especially in western society, encourage individuals to overspend. As a consequence, working overtime is the only way to keep a high standard of living. Therefore, people work longer in an effort to afford paying luxurious items and services. Working for long hours for a long period of time has a detremental effect on people mental and physical well-being. By spending long hours at the office concentrating on working, a person will defenitely be subject to depression. To illustarte, a research developed in the USA shows that the majority of people who are working more than ten hours daily, face an extreme stress after a short period of time. In addition, extra time workers become tired, less efficient and lose concentration. Thus, a balanced time between work and leisure time is indispensable for healthy employee. To conclude, to afford a luxurious way of living people have to work for long hours. However, this way of working has severe consequences on humans physical and mental health. People should balance between what they earn and the way they spend, so they dont have to sacrifice one for the other.