Many people are too scared to leave their home because of a fear of crime. Some people think that more should be done to prevent crime, whereas others feel that nothing can be done. What are your views

Recently, the crime rate has been increased sharply worldwide. Some people believe that measures must be taken to mitigate this trend, while others think that there is nothing that can be done to fix it. I personally agree with the former opinion since if the problem is not addressed soon, both societies and individuals will encounter adverse consequences. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions along with my personal view. On one hand, the main reason why some feel that a little can be done to eradicate a crime rate is the economic recession; in other words, most of the countries that suffer from a sharp crime rate are poor countries. These countries do not have proper educational, health, and justice systems; this leads their citizens to commit crimes only to provide themselves with basic needs. Thus, it is highly likely that imposing any laws will prevent any crime as the reasons behind are not defined and solved from the first place. According to a study conducted at Cairo University, 80 % of the convicted offenders turn to criminal acts after getting out of prison. This shows that nothing can be done and it is better to stay at home to avoid getting attacked by a criminal. On the other hand, others and I completely think that there are several ways that can be used to decrease the crime phenomenon. Firstly, governments can improve the living standards for the whole society by giving subsidies to people in need. An effective solution is to train and educate prisoners, who committed minor offenses rather than punishing them. For example, Canada is one of the leading countries that have converted criminals to good society members. This is why there are a few prisons in this prosperous nation. In conclusion, it is a fact that the crime rate is rising rapidly in the world. Nonetheless, I totally believe that are different actions which can be taken to tackle this issue