Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

What is easier to pull down or to build? At present, it is argued that old buildings defended by the government should be replaced by modern constructions. Many historical objects are considered by the law to be one of the most essential determining parts of humanity’s heritage. This essay analyses the importance of keeping old walls and discussed historical influence on the breakthrough. Exploring old buildings allowed people to discover aspects of recorded roots and consequently boost cultural knowledge. It is worth saying that all objects from the past consist of meaningful messages which defined as priceless for the whole society. This is because, firstly, such ancient constructions represent valuable assets of various nations. In the last years, renovation research has provided ample support for the assertion that numerous historical discoveries have resulted directly from research of old buildings. Another essential point of protecting such buildings is transferring our records to the next generation to make it transparent and meaningful for years. In spite of that building modern skyscrapers have recently turned into an innovative mainstream in the majority of urban areas around the world, it does not mean that people have become more careless regarding historical centre. On the contrary, developing new objects, people constantly refer to their history, either to compare or emulate from past examples. In light of saving ancient architecture, renovating old parts of the cities is enhancing increasingly among different countries. Take for example Moscow, where a progressive way of development combines with cultural aspects and distinctively demonstrates historic periods of the country. To conclude, although presenting new constructions always brings changes and effects on cities' exterior, a cultural heritage should remain the same and be carefully protected by the law. In other words, building new walls should not begin by destroying old ones.