Many of the countries believe that international tourism has harmful effects. Why do they think so? What can be done to change their views?

Before the world has come to modernization, the tourism industry has flourished for ages. Such worldwide affairs brought a rise to the economic standing of various countries. Yet, many nations still fear the harmful effects that the industry brings, such as people fearing colonization and different worldwide competitions. This essay will elaborate the harmful effects of international tourism and the ways on how they can be prevented and fixed. In my opinion, fear of colonization exists as constant interaction with other countries can further develop colonial mentality, especially among teenagers and young adults. A good example of this is how the influence and popularity of Korean Pop and Korean Dramas led many fans to imitate their language, actions, and lifestyle. The natives of a specific country are slowly losing the identity of their roots. Furthermore, they need to get more and more creative in promoting the beauty of their motherland as the competition is getting tougher. With this, the idea of embracing cultural diversity may be helpful in encouraging people to believe in the benefits of international affairs. Although this is the case, an action should be taken to advocate in preserving one's culture. For instance, they may reassess the current educational curriculum and check whether it has been effective on advocating national tourism. In the Philippines, they may include Babayin, or the original Filipino script, as an elective instead of merely discussing it as part of an academic subject. In conclusion, international tourism, just like any other industry, has its beneficial and harmful effects. Nevertheless, it has constantly benefited several countries in boosting their economies. Factors such as loss of national identity and a toughter industrial competition can be reduced by promoting and adding activities on nationalism and patriotism in the school educational system.