Many museums charge the entrance fees while others are free. Do the advantages of charging people to visit a museum outweigh the disadvantages.

A visit to the museum is undeniably the most pragmatic way to delve into and discover history and heritage. While some museums ask for entry fees, others preferred to allow the visitors for free. This essay will outline the possible advantages of this trend which I believe supersedes the disadvantages in many aspects. There are numerous benefits for making museums chargeable. The primary advantages is the maintenance cost of the artefacts and other related things. If there will be no entry price, then the showpieces are vulnerable of being getting damaged. As the presentable items belong from erstwhile era, they need timely refurbishment which can be taken care by the funds collected by the entrance fees. The other positive is the less reliance on government for funding. In UK, for instance, because of other pivotal sectors like health and education, the funding of museums has been slashed dramatically. This will eventually deteriorate the conditions of museums if they do not have sufficient money for their proper functionality. On the contrary, there are, however, some drawbacks as well. The major one is, lesser number of audience will be interested in museums if the visit to these places are paid. Adolescents, for instance, who are relying on their parents for their livelihood will feel reluctant to visit museums because they have to pay some sort of entry fees. Other negative is that there will be only one-time visitors. As most of the museums are meant for enjoyment and gaining knowledge, levying entry fees can deter the individual to visit the same place again. This is because people do not feel thrilled watching same thing again and again and especially if they have to pay anything for that. To conclude, museums are imperative part of our contemporary societies. In my opinion, putting some entrance fee to visit them will be fruitful as they do not have to rely of governments for the preservations of artefacts. Nevertheless, the entry fees should not be exorbitantly high because it can deter the general public to visit the museums.