Many modern children spend a great deal of time sitting in front of a television or computer screen. This is extremely harmful to their development. Therefore, parent should strictly limit the time that children spend in this way.

People hold the view that prolonged use of television and computer have a detrimental impacts on the young generation. As such, parents are advised to impose certain restrictions on their children‘s time spent on watching television and using computer. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion. To start with, numerous health issues among children are attributable to the excessive exposure to television and computer. Firstly, extended use of television and computer in succession may lead to a sedentary lifestyle and social alienation. This is owing to the fact that youngsters are transported to the virtual world, hence tend to less participate in social activities and ignore physical relationships in the real world. Secondly, it is prevailing that eyestrain is commonplace among those who are addicted to high-tech devices. Some even skip their meals in order to watch a favorite TV program or play an appealing video games, which allows no time for eye relaxation. In virtue of the aforementioned repercussions, it stands to reason that parents should set a limit on the amount of time on which their children are allowed to use television and computer. Youngsters, with the supervision and guidance of their parents, would be able to explore and take part in activities such as sports, which is beneficial to their physical health. Furthermore, by reducing the time spent on television and computer, children are able allocate additional time focusing on academic studies and expanding social circles. This, in return, equips the young with skills that is necessary for the future and broaden their horizons. In conclusion, excessive use of high-tech devices such as television and computer brings about negative impacts to children. As such, limiting the time use can be seen as vital actions by the parents to cultivate their children’s well-rounded development.