Many historical sites and museums are mainly visited by tourists, not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people to visit these historical sites and museums?

Museums and historical places seem to be less attractive to local individuals than to visitors. it is crucial that we analyze the causes of this disturbing issue and explore the effective solution. In my opinion, there are multiple reasons behind this trend and the government should undertake certain steps to stimulate the local people to visit museums. There are number of reasons for this phenomenon. First and foremost, local people take this for granted. Secondly, visiting museums is not cheap, as to get admission to these places, visitors are often required to buy tickets. Since there are no new attractions, Local residents who have been to it once, do not wish to frequent it again and again. For example, a survey has revealed that out of 40 museums in India, only 2 of them provide concession to locals and no fee is being charged for children aged under 5 Years. In short, the lack of new attractions and ticket prices are some of the main reasons behind the scarcity of local visitors. Although the solutions are not simple, many steps can be taken by the government to alleviate the problem. To start with, new attractions ought to be organized by the authorities, which will persuade the local community to pay a visit. Additionally, special concession and offers should be introduced specifically aiming at the local people. For instance, Historical attractions should be once a week free for the locals and a 50% discount should also be introduced for children. Thus, it goes without saying that the introduction of new temptations and a drop in ticket prices will play an important role in the resolution. To conclude, this disturbing problem is attributed to many factors such as uninterested local people and expensive tickets. Nevertheless, I believe that many steps can be taken by the government, in order to mitigate the setback.