Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

With the increase of in movement in the import and export area in the food industries, many local farms are suffering. Their crops are going to waste and they are barely making enough revenue to keep their businesses afloat. Which is why I believe that promoting local produce and farms has become an obligation on each and every citizen. Impoting goods has proven to enrich the society with the different cultures and educate them about different cuisines from all around the world. It also introduces new eco-friendly concepts that many are ignorat to. For example, many products from Korea and Japan arrive in reusable or recyclable packaging. These items helped introduce new envromental values to which the locats were ignorent towards. They also tent to be much cheaper, hence why locals tend to be motivated to buy it. They believe that by saving their money they can invest in much more important aspects of life. Even though imprting goods from overseas promotes healthy relations with other nations, it unfortunately drives people to use them to brag over others. They buy imported products to appear elite making local produce seem subpar compared to it imported rival. However in doing so, people pay no regard to the ammount of distructive ingredients and preservants added to the product. Buying fresh local products help avoid such dangers, which later on affects their health and environment. Also, not buying enough local products means that these farms would have to produce less. In doing so, there might not be enough harvest in order to export, which can cause the country into an economical recession. In conclusion, buying local products will help lead to a healthier, safer, economical and environmental life. Although, cultural exposer is very important for the society to advance, supporting local products will help show the world our own cultural identity. It will help the country grow, and therefore the society will grow even stronger.