Many elderly people are no long looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. of this trend?

Recently, some families no longer look after their aged members such as grandpa and grandma. They prefer to entrust them to the hands of a caregiver or nursing home. Older ones can have adequate care and also network with their fellow folks when staying in care homes, although there are drawbacks to be taken into account. On the one hand, there is a number of advantages to elderly people who have stayed in a nursing home. Firstly, it will give them adequate care since most nursing homes have a plethora of specialists that can handle nutrition, heart disease, varicose to mention a few. Unlike staying at home where the family members are busy working hard to make money to build their future. For instance, older people who suffer from osteoporosis which requires expensive equipment to manage are readily available in most nursing homes. Secondly, staying in a nursing home will give them the privilege to network with their agemate whereby they can share ideas and view together. This tends to make them be lively and friendly seeing their fellow folks. On the other hand, one problem when older people are staying is that they suffer from depressions. Being isolated from their lovely and usual environment can make them feel lonely and sad. This can result in psychological trauma and moodiness. According to research carried out in the UK, it was discovered that 85% of older folks staying in a nursing home as mental problems caused by loneliness. However, taking care of the aged at home is more effective than a nursing home. To conclude, it can be deduced that despite the benefits of the elderly staying in a nursing home, it can lead to depression which could result in mental illness.