Many children these days have their own mobile phones. What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

In the world where technology has become an integral part in our daily lives, it is impossible to keep it away from people of any age group. The younger generation is the most affiliated with the new gadgets and it surely has its upsides and downsides. One of the major advantages of kids owning a mobile phone, is the world is at their finger tips. With the internet connection, they have access to all the knowledge of current incidence across the globe. It has also beneficial for their education during the pandemic, when the online classes has become a necessity. Mobile phones play a crucial part in the moments of emergency. Because of them, children can contact their parents and parents can track the kids remotely. Another point worth noting is the role social interaction plays in the overall development of a human being. Because of the mobile phones, even the times of isolation, the children are connected to each other and the society. On the flip side, staring at a screen all day affects children’s health adversely. It has an impact on their eye sight and physical health, since they don’t get any physical exercise, while sitting at home browsing internet. Behaviour changes have been observed in children who play violent video games. Their sleep schedules have also been affected because of excessive use of mobile phones. Cyber bullying and cyber crime is a significant concern when we consider the drawbacks of children using mobile phones at an young age. It causes psychological, emotional and physical distress, making it a crucial issue to be addressed. Taking all the points into account, it is important to make sure children use their mobile phones productively and it does not harm them in any way.