Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children ?

Many diseases encounter at the time of childhood can be prevented with the advent of vaccines. However, the question arises, whether the vaccine should be made mandatory for children to protect them from dreadful diseases or it should be a voluntary decision by the parents. In my opinion, it should be mandatory to follow the immunization process made by law to protect children from harmful diseases. This essay will discuss firstly, why it is important to immunize and secondly, how educating the parents about vaccination would help prevent children from dreadful diseases. On the one hand, the health sector should be made it mandatory for parents to immunize their children to prevent childhood diseases for their better future. Many common childhood diseases like polio, hepatitis B, measles, OPV, DPT are only a few that have managed globally with several shots from birth. For instance, in the olden days, smallpox was a dreadful disease that caused the loss of hearing, with government-aided compulsory smallpox vaccine program, this disease has been eradicated. Therefore it is necessary to prevent a disease right from childhood to build a better world both economically and socially. On the other hand, many uneducated people who are not aware of the purpose of vaccination may think that it is cost-effective, harmful, and have its own side-effects. For instance, many government sectors are scheduling many free pulse polio programs and awareness programs about vaccines to educate underprivileged people. Furthermore, a community's future depends on the health of its citizens, especially children. Besides being beneficial on an individual level, spreading awareness and improving access to immunization is crucial to economic and societal progress. To conclude, in my opinion, it should be made compulsory by law and, people must be aware of the importance of vaccinating their children at a young age to protect them from dreadful diseases.