It is better for children if the whole family including aunts, uncles and so on are involved in a child’s upbringing, rather than just their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many today feel that is important for the entire extended family to play a role in child-rearing, while others feel that parents are sufficient. In my opinion, the whole family should be part of the process. Those who doubt the value of the whole family in raising children often point out the potentially negative influence of particular relatives. In an ideal world, each family member would impart their own unique, mature perspectives in the interests of raising a well-rounded child. In practice, many relatives are more likely to serve as bad examples or contradict the efforts of the parents. The best case scenario with such individuals is confusion and in more extreme cases it could lead to developmental problems. There is even the possibility that a close relative is engaging in physical or mental abuse of a child without the parent’s awareness. Nonetheless, the instances above are exceptions that can be dealt with on a case-by-case basis; in most families extra help lessens the burden on parents. A good example of this would be in countries with very tight-knit families such as in Asia and South America. There it is very common for aunts, uncles and the extended family to lend a hand with raising children. The main benefits of this are for parents and children. Parents get a much needed break from looking after their kids. Children benefit from the undivided attention of their relatives. When they come back home, their mother and father are also more likely to feel recharged and fully engaged in parenting duties having had some time to themselves. In conclusion, though there are rare situations where the whole family raising a child can be a negative, it is important for parents to receive support from relatives. Parents should strive to have this familial environment in order to raise well-adjusted adults.