Living in a country where you have to speak foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well practical problems.

Most of the people, at some point in their lives have ever wondered or asked themselves if they want to go and live in foreign countries. This is based on curiosity and aspiration to explore and learn new things outside their homeland, culture and knowledge. There are people who dream about life in foreign countries where they can practise new languages, meet new people and learn about unique culture and history. It sounds wonderful but what happens when you are in your dreaming country, in this foreign world? First of all, I think living in a different country has its positive and negative sides. It is important to say that when you are living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language, it is an excellent opportunity to practise your language skills with native speakers. In this way you are on your way to improving your language skills and learn tiny secrets of the grammar, vocabulary and pronunciation. And for those people who are more curious and enjoying new things, there is the opportunity to touch foreign culture and history. To acclimate to new surroundings, it is useful to search for new friends who are native and if you have some problems or something is disturbing you, they can help you. Everything sounds amazing but you have to be careful because you are in a new society with different social rules and norms. One of the biggest problems of living in a foreign country is the unknowing or ignorance of etiquette. Perhaps in your homeland, it is normal to hug, kiss or shake hands when you meet someone for the first time. But in other countries this can be considered a violation of social norms and personal space. Also, if you do not know the language very well, the chance to meet some problems – social and practical in daily life – increases. Unfortunately, in some countries it is not well-accepted to be a foreigner and in some point you may become victim of some type of racism. Therefore, if you live or want to live in a foreign country, you have to take time to learn the background of this country – whether they have problems with foreigners and what their main social rules and habits are. In summary, it could be said that I agree with the statement that when you live in a foreign country you will meet some social and practical problems. It is inevitable but if you prepare and surround yourself with information and people who support you in this new “world”, you will succeed in enjoying this adventure.