LISTENING READING WRITING SPEAKING

These days companies frequently have to hire fresh employees who have competent educational qualifications but lack practical skills which is detrimental to the businesses. This essay will suggest how lack of work experience among students contributes to this problem and argue how internships can help solve this issue. During their undergraduate studies, although students are taught technical skills related to a specific field, they do not gain exposure to a working environment. Courses in colleges and universities lay emphasis on theory related study, while little to no attention is paid on development of interpersonal skills. Soft skills such as communication, team work, sales, bargaining etc. , that are essential to every firm’s working, are rarely instilled into young learners. Hence, lack of exposure to a practical workspace, results in undergraduates not having these crucial abilities. Educational institutions should provide courses and projects that aim at giving practical knowledge and experience to their students. Projects that require them to work in a group and achieve objectives together will lead them to expanding their skillset. For example, encouraging future employees to take up internships during their summer breaks will be extremely beneficial as they would be able to test their theoretical abilities at a real job. The more disclosure they get, the more expertise they will gain. While an educated workforce with no on-job experience raises a serious issue for enterprises, this problem can be solved by training the students during their student life itself by the means of group projects and internships.