Life is becoming longer and longer

Nowadays, thanks to the improvement of technology, medicine and science in general, people are living not only longer and longer, but also healthier and stronger. Overall, this progress is generating great benefits for our society as a whole, even though there are some drawbacks that need to be dealt with. Firstly, I would like to highlight the positive changes that this improvement has carried. The population is becoming healthier, with seniors able to live a decent life almost until the end of their days. Moreover, doctors have found ways to alleviate the pain, so that, even though certain illnesses cannot be cured, they can be much more bearable. Attention to the dignity of human being is becoming a leitmotiv of our society and it is only through medicine that our life is so different from those of the animals. Nevertheless, there are some cost to this new wealth, as, for instance, since people are becoming older and older, governments have to spend more not only for pensions, but also for medical care and facilities for the elderly. In western societies, this has been followed by a decrease of natality and, since less citizens are now able to work and generate wealth, this can represent a possible threat for the government finances. Moreover, some people outline that the older the society, the riskier for the environment, since more inhabitants could not be tolerated by the Earth, which may not be able to give us enough resources to survive. However, this argument does non seem consistent to me: as a book called “Factfulness” underlined, when a society becomes richer (and thus older), less people have babies, so the number of people of that State tends to decrease. This is also the reason why in poor countries, such as Africa, more and more people are born everyday, much more that those who dies, even though the life expectancy there is minor than that of the European Countries. To conclude, I believe that the benefits of this progress and innovation surely outweigh the cons, but a careful planning by the government is necessary to assure a sustainable growth.