Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

It is often believed that people living in the moment do not value their past experiences. I would disagree with this since our learning from our past circumstances enables us to face the future and the present times. This essay conveys why we should not forget our learnings from the past but at the same time dwelling on it can create an adverse effect on our daily life. There is no greater teacher than our past. Our experiences in the past can help us tremendously to tackle our present situations as it gives us the courage to face it. Dealing with crises similar to the ones experienced earlier can aid us to understand them better and avoid repetition of the same mistakes. For instance, a businessman that has incurred major loss due to his wrongful judgments will be more cautious in the future. Simultaneously, rehashing the past will result in nonentity but regret. Our past does not define us, this is especially true for people that have been through a horrific event. Relieving the happenings of the past leaves us drained mentally and sometimes physically too. Bad encounters deter us from bringing any positives changes in our lives. (For example, one bad relationship often hinders people from finding true love). To sum it up, I think that while it is rational and important to live in the present we must not forget the place which we have come from and should let should allow the past to remain where it is supposed to be- in the past.