Junk/Street Food is the most affordable meal for the working class. But health problems due to rampant and uncontrolled consumption are being compounded. It has therefore become imperative for governments to impose a higher tax on them. To what extent do you agree to this arrangement by the government? Give your opinion.

Fast food is the stable trend in the food industry since many decades after the inception of corporate culture in the developed countries. In the course of this essay we will discuss how government should bring alternative solution instead of imposing the higher taxes as I firmly believe that the street food holds a significant importance for the working class. When we talk about the 9 to 5 jobs, people hardly get 30 minutes to 1 hour time for their lunch and so, they cannot afford to go home and have a meal. Moreover, when it comes working couple, they simply can't manage the lunch at home and hence street food is the only and ideal option for them. It serves them the flexibility to have one whenever and wherever they want. Apart from this, they get many options to choose their favourite and delicious dishes from the different vendors which can make-up their moods for a job post lunch. One of the government survey in London stated that working people prefering the street meal are more productive compared to their colleagues in the same department. Secondly, the majority people associated in the business of fast foods are middle-class and they cannot afford higher taxes at all. This is because they provide the employment to many others while following the norms of minimum wages per hour. Consequently, they cannot eclipse the quality of food items they are serving due to the healthy competition in the market. According to the economical data of UK, the street food businesses contributes more than the quarter in the country's economy and there are millions of people who are directly dependant on the same. Levying heavy taxes on street food vendors can bolster the rate of unemployment in the country as it is one of the important commodity for human beings to survive. Hence, I totally disagree with the idea of heavy taxes on the street food businesses just because of the health problems revolving around. It totally depends on the individual perception and their consumption pattern.